NFL odds: History says Cowboys winning NFC East again is a long shot

Quiz pop, hot shot. Who NFL division has the longest active streak without a repeating division champion?

It’s the NFC East! The division has not had a repeat winner since the Philadelphia Eagles‘ four years from 2001 to 2004.

So shall it be Dallas Cowboys repeat in 2022?

Here’s everything you need to know about the odds to win the NFC East and the picks of our experts (with all odds via FOX Bet).

Odds for NFC East teams at FOX Bet (with 2021 regular season record in brackets)*


Cowboys (12-5): +120 (bet $10 to win $22 in total)
Eagles (9-8): +175 (bet $10 to win $27.50 in total)
Commanders (7-10): +550 (bet $10 to win $65 in total)
giants (4-13): +800 (bet $10 to win $90 in total)


Cowboys: +900 (bet $10 to win $100 in total)
Eagles: +1300 (bet $10 to win $140 in total)
Commanders: +3300 (bet $10 to win $340 in total)
Giants: +5000 (bet $10 to win $510 in total)


Cowboys: +1800 (bet $10 to win $190 in total)
Eagles: +3000 (bet $10 to win $310 in total)
Commanders: +7000 (bet $10 to win $710 in total)
Giants: +11000 (bet $10 to win $1,110 in total)

* = odds as of 08/04/2022

There hasn’t been a repeat division champion since the Eagles did it over 15 years ago. It is the longest active drought among NFL divisions and the longest in league history.

How long has it really been? Eagles starting quarterback Jalen hurts was 3 years old in 2001 when Philadelphia began their streak of four consecutive NFC East titles.

Since 2004, Dallas has won the East six times, once more than the Eagles. The Giants have won it four times in that span, one more than the Commanders.

The NFC East is the most successful division since the NFL merged in 1970. With 21 NFC championships and 13 Super Bowl wins, the NFC East has the highest ratings of any division.

With such a competitive division, only three teams have swept the NFC East rivals in a season – the Cowboys in 1998 and 2021 and the Eagles in 2004.

Why the Dak Prescott Cowboys are struggling this season | TALK FOR YOU

Dak Prescott could be in trouble before the start of the season. The Dallas Cowboys not only lost Amari Cooper and Cedric Wilson, but will also be without James Washington for 6-10 weeks with a broken foot. Michael Gallup also starts the season on the PUP roster. Emmanuel Acho explains why America’s Team is in trouble.

FOX Sports NFL Writer Eric Williams and FOX Bet associate trader Steven Hemke have differing views on how the NFC East will play out.

“The absence of a dominant team in the NFC East reflects the division’s inconsistent play at the most important position on the field – quarterback,” Williams said. “The last team to win the division in consecutive years was the Eagles, led by a quarterback who received Hall of Fame consideration in Donovan McNabb.

“Fast forward to this season, and Dak Prescott is the best quarterback in the division – one of the reasons the Cowboys won the NFC East last season. Dominant football teams need consistent, productive play from the quarterback position, and that’s lacking in the NFC East.”

Williams’ instinct says the Cowboys are ending the drought and repeating like the beast in the East.

“With the Prescott Cowboys back and a pretty good defense led by Micah Parsons and Trevon Diggsexpect Dallas to break that streak this season, winning the NFC East for the second year in a row,” Williams said.

WILLIAMS’ CHOICE: Cowboys (+120 at FOX BET) to win NFC East (bet $10 to win $22 in total)

We feature Hemke to provide an alternative.

“Even though the Cowboys won the division by three games last year, the Eagles have made major progress and will be looking to return to the top of the NFC East standings,” Hemke said. “During this time, the Cowboys have lost key players – G connor williamsWR Cedric WilsonOF Randy Gregory and obviously WR amari cooper.

“Pair that with the Cowboys who have, at least on paper, the toughest schedule in the division and we should see some regression from that team. We all know the Eagles had a great draft adding Jordan Davis, Cam Jürgens and Nakobe Dean more exchange for A.J. Brown the day of the draft. They also added depth players through free agency with CB James BradberryWR pascal pascal and linebackers White Kyzir and Haason Reddick.

“The Eagles have won six or eight of their last games and are looking to build on that momentum this season with an improved passing game to go along with the league’s best rushing offense.”


Eagles (+175 at FOX BET) to win NFC East (bet $10 to win $27.50 in total)

Eagles (-149 at FOX Bet) to make the playoffs (bet $10 to win $16.71 in total)

Eagles (+1300 at FOX Bet) to win the NFC Championship (bet $10 to win $140 in total)

Some NFC East betting nuggets courtesy of FOX Sports Research:

– A team that paid well for bettors? Washington, which has won the division three times with pre-season odds of +1000 or more – 2020 (+2200), 2015 (+3500), 2012 (+1000).

– The only NFC East teams that haven’t reached the Super Bowl since 1996 are the Cowboys and Commanders.

– Do you like betting on total team wins? The average number of regular season wins for the NFC East champion since 2001 is 10.9.

Which team are you supporting to win the NFC East this season? Head to FOX bet and place your bets now!

Download the FOX Super 6 app for a chance to win thousands of dollars on the biggest sporting events every week! Make your choice and you could win the grand prize. Download and play today!

Get more from the National Football League Follow your favorites for game insights, news and more.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *